KACM Awards and Board of Directors

On December 3, 2020, the Kansas Association of City/County Management (KACM) met to recognize excellence in public service and honor members of the profession for their years of service.

Each year, KACM members meet to choose one member who are exemplary members of the city-county management profession. This year, KACM honored Ty Lasher, City Manager for the City of Bel Aire with the Buford M. Watson, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Management in Kansas. The Association honored Danielle Buschkoetter with the Early Career Excellence Award. Danielle began working full-time with the City of Lawrence in 2016, serving as a Management Assistant in the City Manager's Office during the completion of her Masters of Public Administration degree at The University of Kansas. Currently, she serves as the City's Budget and Strategic Initiatives Administrator in the Finance Department. Three long-term city management professionals in Kansas were honored for their years of service to cities and were awarded the Career Achievement Award: Courtney Christensen, City Administrator for the City of Mission Hills; Larry Paine, retired City Administrator for the City of Hillsboro; and Bob Conger, retired City Administrator for the City of Kechi.

Becky Berger, City Manager for the City of Atchison, was named the President of the Kansas Association of City/County Management for 2021. Jonathan Mitchell, City Manager for the City of Hoisington, was selected as the Vice President, Nathan Law, City Administrator of the City of Louisburg was named Secretary and Jennifer Cunningham, Assistant City Manager for the City of Garden City, was named the Treasurer.